8. Fourth & Main Street

Fourth and Main Street

Main Street at 4th Ave. has been described as the first permanent business block in Edmonds. In 1890, William A. Schumacher constructed a western style "false front" retail building to house a general store. Schumacher was instrumental in founding Edmonds' first bank, the State Bank of Edmonds. They moved into a new building on the southwest corner of Main St and 4th on August 6, 1907, and The Schumacher Building was sold to hardware merchant E. Heberlein in 1908.

Major redevelopment at Main and 4th was set in motion on July 8, 1909, after a disastrous fire  destroyed the "Jones Block" of buildings on the southeast corner. The fire destroyed the post office, the Brackett & Roscoe Grocery, a jewelers’, a confectionary, and a hardware store. F. Roscoe Beeson, newly arrived from Indiana, purchased the still smoldering parcel and immediately announced plans for a two-story reinforced concrete building. The half-block long Beeson Building, built in a distinctive Spanish Mission Revival style, opened two years later. Mr. Beeson went on to serve five terms as Mayor of Edmonds, from 1918 to 1923.

Fourth

About the Artist-Made Plaque

  4th Main

The bronze icons on this panel represent the businesses that made up Edmonds' “first permanent business block,” primarily banks and newspapers. The sign from Heberlein’s Hardware Store was a long-time feature on the building originally constructed by Edmonds pioneer William Schumacher. Terra cotta details from the historic Beeson building inspired the bronze side panel decoration.

Tour Information

The Edmonds Stages of History Tour is a walking tour of significant sites that mark twelve different aspects in Edmonds' development. A unique artist-made plaque identifies each site on the tour. We invite you to explore Edmonds history at each location. Photographs on this website are courtesy of the Edmonds Historical Museum, unless otherwise noted. Descriptions of Edmonds history for the Stages of History panels and the website include information from copyrighted articles by Larry Vogel, originally published in the original Patch online newspaper, Edmonds: The First Century by Archie Satterfield (1990), and Edmonds: The Gem of Puget Sound by Ray V. Cloud (1983), and use restrictions apply. Other information sources include individual interviews and information supplied by the Edmonds Historical Museum.  Please contact the City of Edmonds Arts Office at 425-771-0228 with any corrections to information on the website or for inquiries regarding specific sources of copyrighted material.  

Contact Us

The City of Edmonds Arts Commission 
ph. 425-771-0228

Visit the Edmonds Arts Commission's Website 
email: eac@edmondswa.gov

The City of Edmonds Historic Preservation Commission
Visit the Historic Preservation Commission's Website 

The Edmonds Historical Museum 
Visit the Edmonds Historical Museum's Website