6. Doctors Offices & Hall House

110 4th Ave N

Hall

Art Deco design in the arts and architecture was a 1920s French innovation that became internationally popular. Though small in size, this Art Deco brick commercial building is significant for its style and history, and is one of very few surviving structures from the late 1930s.

Ground was broken for this building in April, 1938, in the midst of a flurry of new construction activity in downtown Edmonds.  Its red brick cladding is beautifully detailed with buff colored bricks at the corners and windows.  A decorative diamond shaped tile in the peaked parapet illustrates a medical symbol, the rod of Asclepius, between the letters MD, indicating the building's origins.

no caption

Constructed as an office for Dr. Frank J. Kenny and Dr. M. O. Magnuson, over the years it has housed different specialty medical practices, dentists, psychotherapists and psychiatrists, and numerous small businesses. Dr. Kenny practiced medicine in Edmonds for over half a century, and contributed much to the civic life of the community. During World War II, he served as the City Health Officer.  He was a member of the Municipal Defense Commission, and a founding board member of the Edmonds Lions Club in 1946.

Hall House 1943

117 4th Ave N

Dr. Harry W. Hall constructed this house in 1910. He used it as his office for seventeen years, and then sold it to Otto and Hattie Sorenson in 1927, the same year that Otto Sorenson was appointed bookkeeper at the State Bank of Edmonds just down the street. Mr. Sorenson, an Edmonds High School Graduate of the class of 1918, later served as Edmond's Postmaster in 1936. 

Doctors

 

 About the Artist-Made Plaque  

DR Office plaque

Bronze images of a pill bottle, doctor’s bags, a stethoscope, an extracted tooth, and a pair of umbilical scissors reference the many activities associated with these two buildings in their roles as doctor and dentist offices.

Tour Information

The Edmonds Stages of History Tour is a walking tour of significant sites that mark twelve different aspects in Edmonds' development. A unique artist-made plaque identifies each site on the tour. We invite you to explore Edmonds history at each location. Photographs on this website are courtesy of the Edmonds Historical Museum, unless otherwise noted. Descriptions of Edmonds history for the Stages of History panels and the website include information from copyrighted articles by Larry Vogel, originally published in the original Patch online newspaper, Edmonds: The First Century by Archie Satterfield (1990), and Edmonds: The Gem of Puget Sound by Ray V. Cloud (1983), and use restrictions apply. Other information sources include individual interviews and information supplied by the Edmonds Historical Museum.  Please contact the City of Edmonds Arts Office at 425-771-0228 with any corrections to information on the website or for inquiries regarding specific sources of copyrighted material.  

Contact Us

The City of Edmonds Arts Commission 
ph. 425-771-0228

Visit the Edmonds Arts Commission's Website 
email: eac@edmondswa.gov

The City of Edmonds Historic Preservation Commission
Visit the Historic Preservation Commission's Website 

The Edmonds Historical Museum 
Visit the Edmonds Historical Museum's Website