2. Phillips Motorcourt

Phillips Motorcourt

Phillips-Motorcourt-AdIn the earliest days of Edmonds, overland travel was slow and uncertain. The famous Puget Sound "Mosquito Fleet" of steamboats provided the first fast and reliable transport to Edmonds in the late 1800s. When the railroad initiated passenger service in 1910 with twelve trains a day, land-based travel became much more convenient. However, it was the growth in private car ownership and the development of a network of roads, highways, and auto ferries that spurred a population boom for Edmonds and the surrounding communities in the middle of the 20th century.

One of Edmonds' most prominent pioneers, A.M. Yost, was the first Edmonds resident to purchase an automobile, in June of 1911. Yost and his family demonstrated their faith in this new form of transportation by founding the Yost Auto Company at 5th Ave South and Dayton St in 1913.

The Phillips Motorcourt was constructed by Donald Phillips in 1941 to serve motorists passing through Edmonds, offering not just a place for a weary traveler to sleep, but also a garage to keep the family car warm and dry. The buildings later served as apartments.

Motorcourt

 About the Artist-Made Plaque  

Motorcourt plaque

The bronze icons on this panel include a steering wheel, the view of a 1920s era car from above, a Highway 99 Road Marker, a 30 MPH Speed Limit sign, and a diamond-shaped Road Work Ahead caution sign. Services for motorists are illustrated by the No Vacancy signs, a gas pump and a road map.  

Tour Information

The Edmonds Stages of History Tour is a walking tour of significant sites that mark twelve different aspects in Edmonds' development. A unique artist-made plaque identifies each site on the tour. We invite you to explore Edmonds history at each location. Photographs on this website are courtesy of the Edmonds Historical Museum, unless otherwise noted. Descriptions of Edmonds history for the Stages of History panels and the website include information from copyrighted articles by Larry Vogel, originally published in the original Patch online newspaper, Edmonds: The First Century by Archie Satterfield (1990), and Edmonds: The Gem of Puget Sound by Ray V. Cloud (1983), and use restrictions apply. Other information sources include individual interviews and information supplied by the Edmonds Historical Museum.  Please contact the City of Edmonds Arts Office at 425-771-0228 with any corrections to information on the website or for inquiries regarding specific sources of copyrighted material.  

Contact Us

The City of Edmonds Arts Commission 
ph. 425-771-0228

Visit the Edmonds Arts Commission's Website 
email: eac@edmondswa.gov

The City of Edmonds Historic Preservation Commission
Visit the Historic Preservation Commission's Website 

The Edmonds Historical Museum 
Visit the Edmonds Historical Museum's Website