12. Carnegie Library & Log Cabin

Carnegie Library and Log Cabin

Carnegie Library/Historical Museum

The first public library in Edmonds was opened in 1901, with a rotating stock of books provided by the Washington State Traveling Library Committee. In 1909, Reverend Lockwood succeeded in acquiring a $5000 Carnegie grant for a new library building. The classical brick structure was dedicated on February 10, 1911. The books were housed in the upper level, with Edmonds city offices, meeting rooms, and even jail cells on the lower level. Children who lived in homes across the street in the 1930s –40s remember playing in the alley and daring each other to call out to the unfortunates in jail. After relocation of both the library and the city offices to larger quarters in 1962, the library building became home to Edmonds' Parks and Recreation Department.

In the early 1970s, members of the newly formed Edmonds-South Snohomish Historical Society approached the Mayor and City Council with a proposal to rescue the building for a new historical museum, making it one of only 271 of the original 1,681 Carnegie Grant Libraries still in use. The Edmonds South Snohomish Historical Museum opened in August of 1973.

Ganahl-Hanley Cabin

Edmond's iconic log cabin was originally erected in the 1930s on the estate of Seaview Heights resident Gaston Ganahl. He commissioned a builder who had worked on the Yellowstone National Park guest cabins to create his hand-hewn Douglas fir log house from trees surrounding the building site.

The second owners, Lee and Dorie Hanley, donated the cabin to the City of Edmonds in 1975. The 26-foot-tall building made a historic 2-day journey from Seaview to 5th and Bell in downtown Edmonds, with utility crews unhooking and reconnecting overhead wires along the way.

In 1990, the cabin became the Edmonds Visitors Center. The little building was in need of repair and a new foundation. A grassroots effort to save the cabin raised over $100,000 for its restoration from individual private donations, ensuring its survival into the new century.   

 Library

 About the Artist-Made Plaque  

Log Cabin plaque

Bronze icons representing books and a portrait of Andrew Carnegie refer to the history of the building as a Carnegie Library. A police badge symbolizes the building's use as a police station and jail. Arts and crafts images recall the years the building was part of the Parks and Recreation Department. The axe and the adze represent the tools used in the log cabin.

Tour Information

The Edmonds Stages of History Tour is a walking tour of significant sites that mark twelve different aspects in Edmonds' development. A unique artist-made plaque identifies each site on the tour. We invite you to explore Edmonds history at each location. Photographs on this website are courtesy of the Edmonds Historical Museum, unless otherwise noted. Descriptions of Edmonds history for the Stages of History panels and the website include information from copyrighted articles by Larry Vogel, originally published in the original Patch online newspaper, Edmonds: The First Century by Archie Satterfield (1990), and Edmonds: The Gem of Puget Sound by Ray V. Cloud (1983), and use restrictions apply. Other information sources include individual interviews and information supplied by the Edmonds Historical Museum.  Please contact the City of Edmonds Arts Office at 425-771-0228 with any corrections to information on the website or for inquiries regarding specific sources of copyrighted material.  

Contact Us

The City of Edmonds Arts Commission 
ph. 425-771-0228

Visit the Edmonds Arts Commission's Website 
email: eac@edmondswa.gov

The City of Edmonds Historic Preservation Commission
Visit the Historic Preservation Commission's Website 

The Edmonds Historical Museum 
Visit the Edmonds Historical Museum's Website